Category Archives: Awards

Dr. Kirti Chandra Sahu from IIT, Hyderabad has been selected for the NASI – Young Scientist Platinum Jubilee Award in Physical Sciences

Dr. Kirti Chandra Sahu from the Department of Chemical Engineering has been selected for the NASI – Young Scientist Platinum Jubilee Award in Physical Sciences for the year 2012.


Indo-german grand science slam: Researchers announced


The names of the young finalists who will be presenting their research are:


Ms. Japleen Kaur Pasricha (Jawaharlal Nehru University), Dr.Sajad H. Ahanger (Centre for Cellular & Molecular Biology, Hyderabad), Mr. Ahan Dalal (University of Hyderabad), Mr. Bidus Kanti Das (Indian Institute Of Technology Kharagpur), Mr. Vikas Shabadi (Technische Universität Darmstadt) and Mr. Debdoot Sheet (Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur). The topics they will be presenting include Contemporary German Pop literature: Christian Krachts “Faserland”; Uniting Boundaries and Dividing the Empire; Can a Plant Biologist make a Farmer smile?; Don’t waste a ‘waste’; Nano-electronics, Spintronics, Multiferroics; and, Ultrasonic Histology, respectively.


Dr. Torsten Fischer, Director, German Research

Foundation (DFG), the official coordinator of DWIH New Delhi, says, “The quality of applications we received for this Indo-German Grand Science Slam in India has been fantastic. It reflects the potential of India’s research community and the promising future of Indo-German research collaboration. The selection was based purely on quality and relevance to area of science selected.”


Source :

Thomson Reuters Research Excellence – India Citation Awards 2012:Indian Scientists

Ten of India’s leading researchers were honoured during the “Thomson Reuters Research Excellence – India Citation Awards 2012”


The award recipients (in alphabetical order) represent diverse fields spanning chemistry, physics, materials science and nanotechnology. They are:

· Dr. Anunay Samanta, (Physical Chemistry and Photochemistry) – J. C. Bose National Fellow and Professor of Chemistry, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
· Dr. Murali Sastry (Nanobiotechnology) –  Director,  India Innovation Center of  DSM India Private Limited, Gurgaon
· Professor Rabin Banerjee (Theoretical Physics and Cosmology) – Senior Professor, Department of Theoretical Sciences, S N Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata
· Professor Sandip P Trivedi (Theoretical Physics and Cosmology) – Professor, Department of Theoretical Physics,  Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai
· Dr. Sarit Kumar Das (Mechanical Engineering, Heat Transfer, Fluid Dynamics and Nanotechnology) – Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras
· Professor Thanu Padmanabhan (Theoretical Physics and Cosmology) – Research Scientist, Core Academic Programmes, Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA), Pune
· Professor Umesh Vasudeo Waghmare (Applied Physics and Materials Science, Computational Methods) – Professor, Theoretical Science Unit, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Bangalore
· Dr.  Varun Sahni (Theoretical Physics and Cosmology) – Professor, Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA), Pune
· Professor Velayutham Murugesan (Physical, Organic, and Environmental Chemistry) – Professor of Chemistry (Eminence) & Advisor, Centre of Research, Department of Chemistry, Anna University, Chennai
· Dr.  Vinod Kumar Garg (Chemistry, Environmental Sciences, and Bioresource Technology) – Associate Professor, Department of Environmental Science and Engineering, Guru Jambheshwar University of Science and Technology, Hisar


Source :Thomson Reuters

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2012:jointly to John B. Gurdon and Shinya Yamanaka

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2012  jointly to John B. Gurdon and Shinya Yamanaka>for the discovery that mature cells can be reprogrammed
to become pluripotent


” The Nobel Prize recognizes two scientists who discovered that mature, specialised cells can be reprogrammed to become immature cells capable of developing into all tissues of the body. Their findings have revolutionised our understanding of how cells and organisms develop.

John B. Gurdon discovered in 1962 that the specialisation of cells is reversible. In a classic experiment, he replaced the immature cell nucleus in an egg cell of a frog with the nucleus from a mature intestinal cell. This modified egg cell developed into a normal tadpole. The DNA of the mature cell still had all the information needed to develop all cells in the frog.

Shinya Yamanaka discovered more than 40 years later, in 2006, how intact mature cells in mice could be reprogrammed to become immature stem cells. Surprisingly, by introducing only a few genes, he could reprogram mature cells to become pluripotent stem cells, i.e. immature cells that are able to develop into all types of cells in the body.

These groundbreaking discoveries have completely changed our view of the development and cellular specialisation. We now understand that the mature cell does not have to be confined forever to its specialised state. Textbooks have been rewritten and new research fields have been established. By reprogramming human cells, scientists have created new opportunities to study diseases and develop methods for diagnosis and therapy.”

Source :

Links to more facts on the Nobel Prizes:
Facts on the Nobel Prize in Physics
Facts on the Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Facts on the Nobel Prize in Literature
Facts on the Nobel Peace Prize
Facts on the Prize in Economic Sciences
Facts on all Nobel Prizes
Nomination FAQ

Dr Narasimha,M has won 2010 “IIME KHARE Award “

Dr.Narasimha Mangadoddy of the department of chemical engineering of the institute has won 2010 IIME KHARE Award for the best paper titled Multi-phase modelling of hydrocyclone:Validation of particle size distribution against sampling probe data authored by M.Narasimha, M.S. Brennan and P.N. Holtham. This paper was presented in the IIME International seminar on “Mineral Processing Technology-2010″ held at Jamshedpur during 15-17 December, 2010”

%d bloggers like this: