Category Archives: Announcements

JSTOR released ebooks

JSTOR released eBooks at JSTOR . list of eBooks

Publishers includes :

  1.     Boydell and Brewer
  2.     Brookings Institution
  3.     Catholic University of America Press
  4.     Central European University Press
  5.     Columbia University Press
  6.     Cornell University Press
  7.     Edinburgh University Press
  8.     Harvard University Press
  9.     Hong Kong University Press
  10.     McGill-Queen’s University Press
  11.     Modern Humanities Research Association
  12.     Ohio University Press
  13.     Penn State University Press
  14.     Princeton University Press
  15.     RAND Publications
  16.     Russell Sage Foundation
  17.     Society of Biblical Literature
  18.     University of California Press
  19.     The University of Illinois Press
  20.     The University of Minnesota Press
  21.     The University of North Carolina Press
  22.     University of Pennsylvania Press
  23.     The University of Texas Press
  24.     University of Toronto Press
  25.     University Press of Mississippi
  26.     Yale University Press

Indian-born Vishakha Desai(expert on Asian art) has been appointed US Museum Board

Indian-American Appointed to US Museum Board, another as MIT Digital Learning Director
Indian-born Vishakha Desai, a leading expert on Asian art, has been appointed by the Obama administration as member of the National Museum and Library Services Board, a key administrative post. A graduate from Bombay University, Desai studied from the University of Michigan.
An Indian-American professor of mechanical engineering and IIT alumni has been appointed as the first director of digital learning of the prestigious Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).Sanjay Sarma, the Fred Fort Flowers and Daniel Fort Flowers Professor of Mechanical Engineering, will work closely with the Institute faculty and students to assess how new models of online instruction might become integral parts of MIT students education. The announcement was made by MIT president L Rafael Reif.  A 1989 IIT alumni, Sarma has long worked to develop new instructional techniques for mechanical engineering students.
Source: The Indian Express (  22nd Nov 2012)

Oxford Handbooks Online

Oxford University Press has announced the re-launch ofOxford Handbooks Online,

Indo-german grand science slam: Researchers announced


The names of the young finalists who will be presenting their research are:


Ms. Japleen Kaur Pasricha (Jawaharlal Nehru University), Dr.Sajad H. Ahanger (Centre for Cellular & Molecular Biology, Hyderabad), Mr. Ahan Dalal (University of Hyderabad), Mr. Bidus Kanti Das (Indian Institute Of Technology Kharagpur), Mr. Vikas Shabadi (Technische Universität Darmstadt) and Mr. Debdoot Sheet (Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur). The topics they will be presenting include Contemporary German Pop literature: Christian Krachts “Faserland”; Uniting Boundaries and Dividing the Empire; Can a Plant Biologist make a Farmer smile?; Don’t waste a ‘waste’; Nano-electronics, Spintronics, Multiferroics; and, Ultrasonic Histology, respectively.


Dr. Torsten Fischer, Director, German Research

Foundation (DFG), the official coordinator of DWIH New Delhi, says, “The quality of applications we received for this Indo-German Grand Science Slam in India has been fantastic. It reflects the potential of India’s research community and the promising future of Indo-German research collaboration. The selection was based purely on quality and relevance to area of science selected.”


Source :

Thomson Reuters Research Excellence – India Citation Awards 2012:Indian Scientists

Ten of India’s leading researchers were honoured during the “Thomson Reuters Research Excellence – India Citation Awards 2012”


The award recipients (in alphabetical order) represent diverse fields spanning chemistry, physics, materials science and nanotechnology. They are:

· Dr. Anunay Samanta, (Physical Chemistry and Photochemistry) – J. C. Bose National Fellow and Professor of Chemistry, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
· Dr. Murali Sastry (Nanobiotechnology) –  Director,  India Innovation Center of  DSM India Private Limited, Gurgaon
· Professor Rabin Banerjee (Theoretical Physics and Cosmology) – Senior Professor, Department of Theoretical Sciences, S N Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata
· Professor Sandip P Trivedi (Theoretical Physics and Cosmology) – Professor, Department of Theoretical Physics,  Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai
· Dr. Sarit Kumar Das (Mechanical Engineering, Heat Transfer, Fluid Dynamics and Nanotechnology) – Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras
· Professor Thanu Padmanabhan (Theoretical Physics and Cosmology) – Research Scientist, Core Academic Programmes, Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA), Pune
· Professor Umesh Vasudeo Waghmare (Applied Physics and Materials Science, Computational Methods) – Professor, Theoretical Science Unit, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Bangalore
· Dr.  Varun Sahni (Theoretical Physics and Cosmology) – Professor, Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA), Pune
· Professor Velayutham Murugesan (Physical, Organic, and Environmental Chemistry) – Professor of Chemistry (Eminence) & Advisor, Centre of Research, Department of Chemistry, Anna University, Chennai
· Dr.  Vinod Kumar Garg (Chemistry, Environmental Sciences, and Bioresource Technology) – Associate Professor, Department of Environmental Science and Engineering, Guru Jambheshwar University of Science and Technology, Hisar


Source :Thomson Reuters

Nobel Laureate Science and Engineering Lectures

Honeywell sponsors and hosts some great Nobel Laureate Science and Engineering Lectures via their HoneywellEvents YouTube Channel.

Does Science Evolve Through Blind Chance, or Intelligent Design?

%d bloggers like this: